Fireweed Flower

Welcome 🙂

Fireweed is a plant and around these parts it’s known as rosebay willow herb, it is described as being a pioneer of the plant world, one of the first plants to colonise a patch of bare soil. A real tough but pretty plant.

It is also the name of a Dear Jane block which I have been struggling with for a couple of days. Not sure if it’s just me but I have found this block to be like the plant -tough but pretty!

20160410_142613

M3 Fireweed Flower – I started by foundation piecing, failed miserably, then started again this time English Paper Piecing and with a bit of reverse appliqué thrown into the mix (the white border was appliquéd on top of the central ‘flower’). I’m so happy that it is done.

I need to find an easy block to do next!

Until next time,

Chris x

8 thoughts on “Fireweed Flower

  1. dezertsuz

    That’s just beautiful. What a lovely addition to your block collection. I had to look up fireweed, and realized I’ve seen it in the mountain meadows in the Rockies many places, but I didn’t know what it was.

Thank you for your comment :)

