Spring Tulips

Welcome 🙂

Pinterest, love it or loathe it you have to admit you can get some great inspiration from browsing the pins. While I was looking for a pattern for fabric tulips (so I could have a very long lasting bunch of flowers) I found a lovely idea for a bag charm.

Well my plain black handbag needed a bag charm to pretty it up so I got to work. The Pin didn’t have a pattern but there were plenty of other patterns for larger tulips so I just adjusted the size of the tulip and winged it 🙂

20160327_082210

The charm is 6″ long excluding the fitting and is made of 6 little tulips attached to pieces of cord (I used shoe laces).

20160327_082353

If you’d like to make one I used a piece of fabric 2″x 3″ for each tulip and this tutorial from The Flower Craft.

I made sure I sewed through the shoelaces so the tulips couldn’t be pulled off.

I made a pattern for the leaf from paper – it’s about 8″ long and 1 1/4″ wide at the widest part of the leaf (that’s without a seam allowance). You can see the shape of it here,20160329_163851

I just pinned the pattern on a double layer of fabric (right sides together) and stitched round the template leaving a 1 1/2″ gap on the long side for turning it the right way round (I used one of those very handy tube turner gadgets) I whip stitched up the opening and knotted it around the cord with a few stitches to hold it secure. Et Voila!

And, in case you’re wondering, I also made some big tulips,

because they were so nice I showed one of my sewing groups how to make them and we had a lovely time creating before putting them together to make a bright and colourful arrangement for this photo 🙂

20160331_213731

Until next time,

Chris x

 

8 thoughts on “Spring Tulips

  1. chicken46

    What a fun project, and brilliant end results. Tulips are my favourite too. Might have to drop a hint to my sewing-mad sister.

Thank you for your comment :)

