UFO challenge for March

Welcome 🙂

For March’s UFO challenge I decided to push the boat out and try to finish two things. Ambitious or what!

The first UFO I’ve decided to do is a kit by Kathleen Laurel Sage which I had started last year. Like last months UFO (just here) I haven’t really got too much to do but I can remember that it got put away because I was nervous of ruining it by doing the ‘next step’ which involved a soldering iron and burning holes into the fabric.

This is it at the moment,

20160317_164743

I’m still a bit nervous about working on it but as I’ve told you all about it I’ve got to do it now – right ;).

The second UFO was a lot less scary. Last year I made a couple of shabby chic birds which my daughter used to decorate her wedding cake. At around that time I decided to make myself a couple of birds too. I got them cut out and half sewn up before they were abandoned, put into a plastic bag and disappeared out of sight and out of mind.

I was reminded of them because at my local quilter’s group this month we made Easter garlands and I thought they looked like little nests. I thought, ‘I need some birds for my nest,’ and so this week I got on with them.

Here they are ready to decorate my home for Easter.

20160317_141058

The ‘nest’ is made by knotting strips of organza round a wooden curtain ring until you can’t see the ring any more. I glued a circular piece of cardboard on the base of mine to turn it into a nest.

20160317_14111020160317_141120

What’s a nest if it doesn’t have any eggs in it!

20160320_150924

Phew one more UFO done! I’d better get on with the other one now!

Until next time,

Chris x

6 thoughts on “UFO challenge for March

  1. Go for it Chris! At least a soldering iron is a little more controllable than a heat gun! Those birds are great – did you say you were going to make a pattern for them? xx

  2. carolegoldquilts

    Such sweet, cheerful birds! I’ll bet they make you smile every day.
    Ohh, your soldering iron project is intriguing.YES, now you must do it – we all want to see what happens next! May it turn out just as you wish. 🙂

  3. Pingback: By the Skin of my Teeth – UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

