More Jane

Welcome 🙂

Here are a few more of the dark blue blocks I’ve been working on;

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

G7 Indianapolis – pieced and appliqué.

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

M13 Lynette’s Diamond – pieced and appliqué

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

L4 St. George’s Cross – pieced, a bit wonky but I’m sure it won’t be noticeable when all the blocks are sewn together!

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

M1 Dogwood Days – foundation pieced and pieced.

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

A13 Starlight-Starbright – EPP

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

D2 Mouse in a Mirror – EPP

One thing I have discovered is that hand sewing these close weave batiks is tough going on my poor fingers! So much so that I’ve had to make myself another batch of leather thimbles to cope! (This post shows how I do it)

It’s also probably why my little scrap project of hexagon flowers has been having more attention than I thought it would!

20160219_12480120160219_124806

Sewing these is so much easier than the batiks! I’ve not only caught up with making one a week but I’m also ahead of the game with a couple of April’s flowers already made!

My Ladies Wot Sew group are going to try to make something for Christmas each month. Well, January came and went with no project but we did make a start this month with a Christmas card holder. Fiona from Celtic Thistle Stitches gave me the idea, thank you Fiona, and this is what I made.

20160219_125524

It still needs a long piece of wide ribbon sewing on the bottom of it so cards can be attached to it but you get the idea. These will replace a couple of tatty cardboard card holders which are past their best.

20160219_12553020160219_125601

I’m linking this up to Ho Ho Ho and on we Sew at Charly and Ben’s Crafty Corner

Until next time,

Chris x

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “More Jane

  1. dezertsuz

    I really love those fussy cut bee centers! Those are great hexagon flowers. Your Jane blocks are coming along pretty quickly. That first one is especially appealing, but I like them all.

  2. Great progress with your Dear Jane blocks! Love your leather thimbles. I don’t have any ballet shoes, so I cut old washing up gloves into circles to grip my needles, they do save my fingers!

    Have a great week!

    Barbara xx

  3. Gorgeous Christmas card holders, especially the red one in the photo by itself. I Pinned Fiona’s when I saw it, in the hopes that I’ll make at least one for me. Popping by from the link up at Charlie and Ben’s Crafty Corner.

Thank you for your comment :)

