Jane Update

Welcome 🙂

I’m still enjoying working on my Dear Jane quilt – long may it last.

Since I last posted I have been trying to do a few trickier blocks and I’ve caught myself having ‘the self persuasion chat’ with myself. You know the one where you say, ‘If I do this hard block next then I can do this easier block afterwards as a reward.’

Please don’t tell me that it’s just me who has this conversation with myself!

Here are a few of the blocks I’ve been getting on with;

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

K11 Columbine – foundation pieced and appliqué (the appliqué is the square in the centre of the block, I made a mistake when I made it up so the square is my attempt to make it look right!

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

L10 Nan’s Naiad – foundation pieced. A tricky little block to say the least.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

M9 Fan Dance – Foundation pieced

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

M5 Mother’s Point – pieced

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

D8 Dee Dee’s Delight – appliqué

vcm_s_kf_repr_832x624

E13 Moth in a Web – EPP

As you can see I’ve been concentrating on the dark blue blocks, I love the colours in this fabric.

I’ve also branched out and started something new. Some ladies in my Thursday Quilt group have challenged themselves to make a hexagon flower a week for the whole year and last week they asked me if I wanted to join them – well what could I say but yes, so Jane has been in competition with hexagons as I’m attempting to catch up all those weeks worth of flowers I’ve missed.

SAM_4955

I’m going to try to use up some of my scraps on this project, as long as I can get six hexagons out of the fabric then it has a good chance of being included!

It’s going to be lovely working with old favourites again 🙂

SAM_4956

So far I’ve made one flower but the others are all prepared so just need to be stitched together which is a good evening activity while I watch a bit of mindless TV!

The same quilt group have also voted 2016 to be the ‘Year of the Finish’ so we are all encouraged to declare one WiP a month and work on it throughout the month ready to show to the group the following month.

The hope is that we’ll finish something every month but we’re accepting progress as being a success too.

I chose an almost finished project for February as I still want to spend most of my sewing time with Jane. Here’s a little peep of the WiP I’m working on this month.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve linked this post up to Anthea’s ‘Piece Yourself Together’ at Hibiscus Stitches which is celebrating English Paper Piecing in her bi- monthly linky party.

Until next time,

Chris x

 

10 thoughts on “Jane Update

  1. Love the fabric you used for these Jane blocks, just beautiful. Your blocks look well made, some of mine had problems but I called them finished. No one can pick out the imperfect blocks in my quilt and they won’t in your Jane either. Have fun with the hexies, they are so much fun! Blessings,
    gretchen

  2. Your blocks are looking great Chris and yes, I do have that conversation with myself! Have you thought of linking your post with Anthea at Hibiscus Stitches? It’s PYT Tuesday and the link is on my blog post today. xx

  3. dezertsuz

    I especially like your Dee Dee’s Delight – lovely applique. A blue and white Jane will be so lovely! I love your finished hexagon. What size are they finished? I have 3/4″, 1-1/4″ and 2″ projects … all unfinished! =) They aren’t on my list to finish, really, just moving them along a bit. Thanks for stopping by my post! I’m going to scroll back through some of yours, too.

  4. Thanks for linking up with PYT , Chris – I’m sure you’ll get into a good routine with your EPP & it’s great you have friends to stitch along with at your group.
    Your Dear Jane blocks look great too – they’re so much work but golly your quilt will be a work of art!

  5. Gosh your Dear Jane blocks look frightfully complicated to me! And now you are stitching hexagons too…hard not to join in! It is good to have something easy to stitch while watching TV.
    Have fun!
    Barbara xx

  6. Pingback: 2016 Challenge – Whoops! – UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

