Not Secret Anymore

Welcome šŸ™‚

We had a FABULOUS time on Saturday, Daughter’s wedding was such a joy filled, fun filled occasion. We enjoyed every second of it – even the clearing up afterwards! We had a pretty full on week beforehand but everything came together beautifully and the day itself was brilliant.

Now that the BIG day is over I can reveal the secret sewing I’ve been up to during the last couple of months. I won’t overload you all in one post but spread it out a bit!

The main sewing feat was The Dress.

Now I didn’t make the dress but it needed a little bit taking in and turning up and generally tweaking so that it fit Daughter well. I was a bit daunted by the task but kept telling myself that wedding dresses are designed so that they can be altered and luckily that was exactly the case.

20150414_084959

I’ve altered ball gowns before and the wedding dress was much easier to do, we had a couple of fittings and then ticked that off the list šŸ™‚

I was also tasked with shortening the grooms jacket sleeves and I have to say that was a much harder job to do!

As you can see it wasn’t a nice straightforward sleeve to take up but buttons to move and a sleeve vent to work into the equation too.

20150414_091721 20150414_091732

But I took my time and apart from a bit of a wobble when I was building up the courage to cut off the excess fabric it worked out just fine. Mind you I wouldn’t want to do it again šŸ˜‰

B and J 3
photo by Mustard Yellow Photography

confetti again1

Until next time,

Chris x

13 thoughts on “Not Secret Anymore

  1. Hi Chris, Well done with the alterations – very scary responsibility for you! What a lovely looking couple they make! Congratulations to them both, may they be very happy. Barbara xx

Thank you for your comment :)

