Shadow Play Workshop

Welcome 🙂

Now if you are a follower of mine you may have seen a very incomplete post on Sunday about this workshop – which hadn’t even happened at that time! I don’t know if you’re like me but at the beginning of the week I try to make a start on posts I will be posting – only a few words to act as prompts for later on, unfortunately I hit publish for this one and then had to hit delete straight afterwards!

Does that happen to anyone else? So, sorry about that, I don’t suppose it will be the last time 😉

The workshop I went to on Thursday was called 3D quilting but was really about creating the illusion of 3D by putting in simple shadows.

I still had a small amount of fabric left over from my Daisy Chain and Daisy Basket quilts so I thought I’d try to use it up by making a cushion (pillow) for my bedroom. So my cushion is very different from the workshop sample and to be honest at this stage in the game I do think the workshop original idea works better than what I’ve done.

20150625_180018

You can see the idea of the shadow however because my squares are smaller than the original the shadows are out of scale so a bit too chunky

20150625_180036

I also think the grey brings the colours ‘down’ too much 😦

I’ve still got a couple of flowers to appliqué on top of it which I hope will lift it a little so that I can live with it! Oh dear that all sounds like doom and gloom! But at the end of the day that’s what learning is all about isn’t it – trial and error and learning from our mistakes.

Have a great week end.

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to share the love and comment and/or ‘like’ this post then just click on the post title, scroll down to the end of the post and you will find the comment box – look forward to hearing from you.

6 thoughts on “Shadow Play Workshop

  1. Because you know what it should look like you are not pleased with it whereas I think it looks lovely not having seen the original! Very pretty – just enjoy. xx

  2. I agree with Lin, it is lovely, I think the applique flowers will be a great addition. I must admit, I too get into my head what I want something to look like and then I am disappointed if it doesn’t turn out quite as I think. Have a lovely weekend Chris. x

  3. Pingback: Stars | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

