Basket Quilt Update

Welcome πŸ™‚

I’ve been working hard on completing the Altar cover and table runner for my Church and I’m pleased to say that it’s all finished however I haven’t had time to put it on the Altar yet. Hopefully I will carve out a bit of time to do that some time this week and then I shall share some photos with you. It has been a weight off my shoulders to get it done so that I can concentrate on the secret wedding sewing again.

I’m trying to spend some time each day on wedding preparations and I’m pleased to say that it’s all under control πŸ™‚ but still plenty to do!

In the meantime I’ve been enjoying working on my Basket quilt.

20150617_122744

I had intended this project to be one of those slow going, take your time projects but it turned out to be a ‘can’t wait to get it started and may as well finish it’ projects instead!

I’m loving the pretty colours all over again with this quilt which has been made with the leftover fabrics from my Daisy Chain quilt. I’ve still got a few more scraps left and I’m wondering about seeing if I can squeeze a cushion cover out of them .

I’ve never been a fan of yoyos before but I think they work really well here. One reader said she thought they gave the design depth and as soon as I read her comment I thought ‘she’s right, they do!’

And as I ran out of background fabric and had to order some more I’m hoping the yoyos will do a good job at distracting the eye away from the fact that the setting and corner triangles are a slightly different colour than the rest of the background fabric!

20150617_122821

This project is close to being finished now, only the yoyos to sew on and quilt round, the binding and maybe a few buttons to stitch on. I love this feeling of anticipation when you’re close to the finish πŸ™‚

I shall link this post up to Esther’s WOW post.

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to share the love and comment and/or β€˜like’ this post then just click on the post title, scroll down to the end of the post and you will find the comment box – look forward to hearing from you.

11 thoughts on “Basket Quilt Update

  1. Really pretty – no one will notice that the setting triangles are slightly better – they’ll just wonder, subconsciously, how you made the centre parts of the quilt stand out so beautifully! Funny how projects set their own timetable sometimes!

  2. LInda

    THIS IS TURNING OUT SOOOOOOOOO GORGOUS! I REALLY DO HAVE TO FIND THAT BASKET PATTERN AND GET STARTED, THANKS SO MUCH FOR POSTING YOU ARE ENCOURAGING ME!

  3. So pretty Chris – but I know what you mean about yoyo’s! However they have worked very well for you here. Looking forward to seeing your Altar cloth. xx

  4. I just love this! Your fabrics are perfect, really charming. I’m still trying to get around to my own basket quilt (its on my To Do List) and I always thought I would add yoyos on mine too, so I’m pleased to see someone do it in real life and see that it really does work and looks fantastic! All I need now is another 10 years to get around to actually making my own!

    I’d love to see your altar work too, how lovely.

Thank you for your comment :)

