Blouse re vamp

Welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

Last week, while tidying my sewing room, I unearthed a pile of mending which I had conveniently forgotten about!

Who likes mending? Anyone?

Maybe you’re like me and have a mending pile which just sits getting bigger and bigger until you just have to do something with it! Well that something happened this week. Tee shirts got mended, trousers shortened, buttons sewn on and in the midst of it I came across a blouse I’d all but forgotten about.

I bought said blouse a couple of years ago. It was one of those crinkly blouses which hug your curves, and every time you wash it you’re supposed to twist it up and knot it to get the creases back.

Well the very first time I washed it the creases fell out even though it had been twisted and crunched and knotted to within an inch of its life and it became too big to wear (and I’m saying about 2 sizes too big). I think I must have buried it in my wardrobe in disgust and disappointment and at some point it got put optimistically into the mending pile.

After taking a bit of advice this is what it’s like now.

20150511_175018

I started by shortening the blouse by about 1 inch and used the spare fabric to make a cord. Then I sewed some little metal rings along the back darts and threaded the cord through the rings to pull in the blouse.

20150511_175042

So now I have my blouse back with an interesting detail on the back ๐Ÿ™‚

On a completely different note,I thought you’d like to see what my local wood looks like at the moment…

20150502_120512

Absolutely beautiful – bluebells everywhere.

Until next time,

Chris x

If youโ€™d like to comment and/or โ€˜likeโ€™ this post, and Iย hope you do! โ€“ย then just click on the post title, scroll down to the end of the post and you will find the comment box โ€“ look forward to hearing from you.

11 thoughts on “Blouse re vamp

  1. What a clever, clever way to rescue the blouse. Very impressed with that.
    The bluebells look stunning. They weren’t quite out 2 weeks ago when I left the UK. I was really looking forward to seeing them. Oh well. Can’t have everything.

  2. Hi Chris, Altering your blouse like that was a great idea! Pretty fabric! Where did you get those little metal rings, I could use some of those. We still have bluebells here and some in our garden are only just flowering as we are quite high up (living on a hill) and the local woods are higher still! Barbara xx

  3. that is such a clever solution! Thanks so much for sharing, i’m going to pin this to save for when I manage to lose some weight (I’m trying!) and all my blouses are too big (she says, optimistically!)

Thank you for your comment :)

