Christmas Workshop

Welcome 🙂

Yesterday I went to a workshop at my new quilting group. I went prepared with fabric ready cut out and appliqué designs reversed, traced onto Bondaweb and ironed on my chosen fabrics.

Friends, I thought I’d be whizzing ahead with the project but those of you who are experienced workshop goers will probably smile and nod your heads when I say that I didn’t get very much done AT ALL!

It was all about sitting with lovely people and having a good chat and getting to know each other a little bit more 🙂

It also didn’t help that I’d reversed all the pattern images before tracing them onto Bondaweb and ironing it all down, when I went to iron them onto my background (please bear in mind that I hadn’t see the finished design – only the pattern pieces) my design was the wrong way round!

The pattern pieces had been reversed already!!

So I messed about a bit with altering the design so it still worked. Then set to with hand blanket stitching the design down.

20150430_172340

One of the ladies was using her machine to do her blanket stitch and I have to admit to feeling a bit of machine envy! My machine is a Bernina 1010 and I’ve had it for 26 years, it’s an absolute work horse and stitches beautifully and I wouldn’t want to part with it BUT over the last couple of years I’ve been making a mental note of all those features I would like if I ever got another machine.

Simple things really like a needle down facility, blanket stitch, running stitch, a larger throat for those large quilts.

I’d be interested to know – what sewing machine features do you love?

I have a feeling that I’d better start saving my pennies!

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title, scroll down to the end of the post and you will find the comment box – look forward to hearing from you.

13 thoughts on “Christmas Workshop

  1. I am sure you had a lovely day and you did get stuff done too! My Bernina is a 1008 and about 12 years old. Very basic but a brilliant work horse like yours. Yes I would love needle down facility and a larger throat but when I think of all the money I have spent on feet that would probably not fit another machine – and I mean Bernina cos I wouldn’t buy anything else – I stay content with what I have. xx

  2. I love workshops! You’re so right half the fun is meeting like minded folk and sharing wisdom and of course a wee bit of eyeing up each others machines.

  3. The machine blanket stitch does sound lovely. I have a Juki T-2010Q which is an absolute workhorse of a machine, but only goes forward and backward. No computer to go bad and need repairs, all metal parts for sturdiness. I think I will keep and love this machine to my grave! But a second machine to do decorative stitches sounds like a nice idea. In fact, my first machine, a BabyLock, could not stand up to how much I used it and needed repair, so it is now kept in reserve. It has all the fancy stitches, but cannot keep up with sewing many quilts per year. Plastic internal parts! Who’s idea was this for a sewing machine?!!! I love needle down, knee lift, automatic thread cutter. These have all sped up my pace and saved repetitive hand/arm motions. I would love a larger throat, but can get a queen quilt around and around under mine in a pinch.

  4. LInda

    I had an old bernina work horse also a Viking workhorse but when I went and bought a new machine after looking at all the different brands I wound up with a pfaff’ my favorite features are number onr the walking foot. next would have to be the automativ needle threader and last but not least the needle down feature. I would highly recommend trying out several different brands before making up your mind.i know that I was convinced that I would buy another Viking but after going from shop to shop it was the pfaff for me.

  5. Glad you’re enjoying your meet ups! I have a Bernina 440, with a BSR foot for free motion quilting. It replaced a Bernina 1020 when the circuit board went and I had to buy new feet as they didn’t fit. I also have a Juki with a thread cutter and it’s better for straight lines and bulky seams. If you use your machine a lot, you need a back up, I’m sure you’d use both 🙂

  6. I have a Bernina 440 love it. All of those features you mentioned above are now a necessity and not a luxury where I am concerned! Of all of them I would never, ever part with the needle down feature. Absolute must if you are trying to FMQ. I bought it well after learning to FMQ, so now I find I am better off controlling the quilting myself than using the BSR, so next time I buy, that would not be a feature I looked for. Wider throat is a must for me too, as I do quite a bit of my own quilting. As for workshops, I am quite hard of hearing, so I really struggle with the instructors moving around the room as they speak. I find I am always behind, and get a bit frustrated with that. The last one I did I felt like I had wasted my money as I heard so little of it. Haven’t gone to one in ages for that reason.

  7. OH been there done that. Usually you can make it work anyway….but it’s frustrating. I have a Viking Designer 1, which I LOVE – it has tons of stitches [including blanket stitch], no presser foot lever [automatic], a needle threader, and you can push a button and have it stop with the needle down. When you do, the presser foot automatically comes up, making pivoting absolutely painless and mindless. However, it’s computerized, and while I love all the features it does require service occasionally. My old boss [at the Viking sewing center] said it used to be that a good machine would run you about the cost of a year of college. I would suggest going to different dealers and brands, trying them all, then trying to find a used one where somebody upgraded to a better machine. They’re usually well taken care of. Also, find a dealer you like, that you think you can work with – most will offer free classes with your machine.

  8. I have two Janome computerized machines (7700 and 6500) and a Juki TL2010Q mechanical machine. I haven’t touched my Janomes since I set up the Juki! The features that are most important to me are needle down, speed control and a larger harp. The Juki only does a straight stitch but that is what I do 99% of the time and the quality of stitch is outstanding!

  9. Know what you mean about not getting anywhere near as much done at a workshop, but isn’t it nice to spend time with like-minded people 🙂
    I bought a Bernina recently and love it! My previous machine was an Elna, they both have the needle down facility and I have to say I would hate to be without it now. Use the lockstitch a lot too.

  10. I do nearly all of my blanket stitch on the machine (Janome) and the more you do the better you get at turning tight corners or points. Don’t want to do it anyother way now!

  11. Pingback: Up On the Roof Top – UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

