Sunny Day

Welcome 🙂

In between all the secret wedding sewing that’s happening here I’ve found a bit of time to work on my EPP quilt.

I used a tip that Karen of Faeries and Fibres shared and that was to quilt around the big shapes first to stabilise the quilt sandwich and then go back and fill in the smaller areas.

20150415_074437

As you can see I’ve done a big stitch round the hexagons. Boy was it hard to alter my stitch length! I guess we are all used to stitching the way we do that to suddenly change is tough, quite a bit of unpicking happened to start with as my stitches were too small for the effect I wanted, but I got there 😉

20150415_074450

I’m now working through all those stars, just going round them one by one. Funny when I made them I eagerly counted each one up to my target number of 126, now I’m eagerly counting down from 126!

20150415_074457

About half done now, but there’s no rush 🙂

The sun has been shining and as we are firmly into Spring here there’s a lot of seed sowing happening in the garden. This year I’m hoping to do more vegetable growing than before and although I don’t have a vast garden I do have a greenhouse and a small raised bed, both of which I plan to fill with goodies.

Happy days 🙂

I’m linking this post up to Esther Aliu’s Wips on Wednesdays post, why not check out what others have been getting up to.

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

9 thoughts on “Sunny Day

  1. The quilt is great, I love the colours and the kaleidoscope effect of the stars! I have just made myself a yarn catcher following the you tube video you recommended and I am really pleased with it. They would make a great gift but this one is for me!! Sharon x

  2. Your quilt looks fabulous! I love big stitch and it looks so easy but for me it is very difficult because my tendency is toward smaller stitches. You are absolutely right about counting up with exciting when making a quilt top and counting down with excitement when quilting it! Thanks for the shout out!

  3. Karen K

    I am trying EPP. I enjoy that it is something I can do while sitting watching TV, riding in the car, waiting for an appt, etc. I love the solid color you used in your quilt! And the stars are lovely. I admire the fact that you are hand-quilting this. Can’t wait to see it all finished.

  4. It’s looking lovely Chris. I have been out in the garden all day digging. We have had some super weather this week – even too hot at times!! xx

Thank you for your comment :)

