Grow Your Blog

Good Morning and welcome to old friends and new 🙂

A big thank you to Vicki from 2 Bags Full  who has put together this Blog event so we can find new blogs and make new friends.

My name is Chris and I live here in UK City Crafter Land (otherwise known as Cambridgeshire in the UK). I love sewing and crochet but I also dabble in just about any other craft I get the opportunity to. However, I have to admit that sewing is my first love 🙂

I discovered blogs a couple of years ago now and I really enjoyed reading about what other crafters were making and designing. Their generosity in sharing their knowledge inspired me to start my own blog which essentially is a journal of the crafts I create but I’ve started sharing the love by writing a few tutorials of my own now (you get to my tutorial page by clicking on the tab at the top of the page or if you’re on a mobile device then click on ‘menu’ at the top and a list of options will appear).

Over time I’ve built up an online friendship with a few brilliant bloggers and it’s great to have fellow crafters on hand to chat to, especially when you need a bit of help and advice 😉

I love that we can all connect with one another no matter where we live – the internet is a wonderful thing!

Here are a few glimpses of the sort of thing I get up to…

SAM_4450
My EPP Honeycomb quilt which is on my list for finishing this year.
A massive group project I was involved in last year for my Church.
A massive group project I was involved in last year for my Church.
A bit of crochet cuteness - I do like to crochet!
A bit of crochet cuteness – I do like to crochet!
My one and only (so far!) Pinterest success - this project popped up all over the place. The tutorial and pattern for it is now on my tutorial page.
My one and only (so far!) Pinterest success – this project popped up all over the place. The tutorial and pattern for it is now on my tutorial page.
My venture into learning how to do fmq, this is an on going drama as I work my way through  a Craftsy class and pluck up the courage to actually do it on a REAL quilt ;)
My venture into learning how to do fmq, this is an on going drama as I work my way through a Craftsy class and pluck up the courage to actually do it on a REAL quilt 😉

I hope that gives you a flavour of what I’m about and that you decide to visit again 🙂

To commemorate Vicki’s blog event I’d like to offer a little give away.

I made the needle keeper last week and wrote about it here, and I’ve made a super twisty pop up thread catcher to go with it. I made one of these a while ago (post here) and I’ve found it amazingly handy to have a mini pop up bin in my work basket.

20150120_103158

20150120_103256

20150120_103334

If you’d like a chance to win this needle keeper and thread catcher (and maybe a few extra goodies too) then all you need to do is comment on this post telling me where you come from and what your interests are (To get to my comments form just click on the post title and you’ll be taken straight there 🙂 ). I shall draw a name out of a hat on February 15th and email the winner, so please make sure I have your details.

Please do visit some of the other blogs participating in this years Grow Your Own Blog event, a list of them can be found here.

THE GIVE AWAY IS NOW CLOSED – SORRY!

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

 

 

42 thoughts on “Grow Your Blog

  1. Hi Chris! I really enjoy following your blog and look forward to each post. I’m working on the little caravan pouch – it will be a give for a friend. I am a Canadian and I really enjoy making quilts! I hope you have lots of visitors to your lovely blog!

  2. Hi Chris, I’ve only recently started blogging, been enjoying yours! I’m in Sussex now, used to live in Cambs!! I love the caravans, I know what my cousin is getting for Christmas now!! I’ve gone a bit crochet crazy lately and your mouse is sooo cute. I hope the blog growing goes well. Xx

  3. Hi! I’m Beth, I live on Oxford and love sewing, although I’m still learning I have improved a lot since I started blogging about it last year. I have never crocheted but enjoy admiring other people’s work! Your FMQ is beautiful – go ahead and do it on a real quilt!!

  4. Hi Chris. Im sure I’ve not seen your caravan pouches before. They are amazing! I loved reading about the church panelling you’ve been working on. I’m in West Yorkshire. Wakefield to be precise. Looking forward to catching up more with you in 2015.

  5. Hi Chris, I love the needle keeper.. is really pretty in the shape of a star.. and yeah blog-hopping…. Gosh there’s like 400+ blog to go around.. that’s sure is fun. 😉

  6. Hello Chris. It was lovely reading about you and seeing your gorgeous projects. That little mouse is just so cute. I live in Melbourne, Australia. My favourite thing I love to do is stitcheries and quilting.

  7. Oooh hello – love all your projects here, that little pop up thread catcher is so cute I just use the old bag attached to a sand bag precariously balanced on my settee arm or my lap – whichever is closer! (you can guess which usually wins). Have popped over here from Grow Your Blog which seems a fabulous way to meet new people doesn’t it! Have a great day. Sunshine Girl – section 24.

  8. I am in central Victoria AUSTRALIA. I love making quilts for gifts. I do a lot of other crafts as you can see on my blog. I will be making one of those caravan bags and like the idea of the twist thread holder. Very cute and handy

  9. Hi I’ve popped over on the blog hop, lovely to see all you’re wonderful makes I love the little mouse and also the carvans, so gorgeous. I’m a blogger from the UK and love all crafts especially crochet.
    Clare x

  10. Karen in Breezy Point

    I love your little mice–so cute! I’m visiting from Minnesota USA and love quilting and doing lots of hand sewing projects. The thread catcher is so clever–thanks for the chance to win one!

  11. Hello! I am a helper from Vickie’s Grow Your Blog. Just wanted you to know that a helper came by and peeked at your blog! I want to welcome you to the Blog Hop on Vicki’s behalf! So glad you wanted to be part of this fun Blog Hop! Thanks for posting and enjoy the hop!
    I am inspired by your quilting! And I love those little bags! I will have to check out the tutorial and make one! Thanks!

  12. Jen B

    Hello, I am next door to you, in Norfolk! I love quilting, reading and am also teaching myself to free motion quilt, with craftsy’s help.

  13. Love creations you got there!
    Hi Chris! I’m Azura from Malaysia. I love cross stitching, reading, crafting and now starting to love gardening. I would love to try on sewing and chrocheting someday. Thanks for the giveaway. 😊

  14. Michele Timms

    OMG! You make some very sweet crafts!! I com from Northwestern Ontario, Canada!! I am a quilter and crafter. Thanks for sharing in the hop! I will be following your blog via Bloglovin’

  15. Visiting from GYB… wow.. those little camper looking zipper pouches are so cute.. I have to go check out your tutorial! And the thread catcher…again, just to cute! And I now follow you! Thanks for the inspiration!
    Cheri, the quilting nanny
    quiltingnanny(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. Quilting Tangent

    Hi from New York. I’m a quilter and cross-stitcher. You need a gallery tab so we can see your projects and you can keep track of them. New follower on bloglovin’.

  17. Sarah

    I love that little mouse, and the thread catcher and needle book… please enter me for the giveaway! I signed up to follow you by e-mail. You make such beautiful things!

  18. bekki

    Your work is lovely, you have a definate style which is great. I love your honeycomb quilt, it looks like very patient work! your caravan purses are adorable too! Im going to go and sign up to follow. 🙂

  19. I’ve enjoyed my visit with you! I’m a crazy quilter primarily, but I dabble with knitting and a little crochet too. CQ is my passion though. I live in southern Ontario in Canada. Thank you so much for inviting us to visit you.

  20. Found your blog via the party. Love the quilt you’re finishing and the mouse is adorable. I might have to make the camper for a friend. Glad to have found you!

  21. Chris your work is really lovely and the camper bag is so cute! I think I need to add that to my Pinterest page as well. Thanks for the opportunity to win your great prize! Susan

  22. Hello Chris, visiting you from NSW, Australia via the GYB party. I really enjoyed your lovely things you showcased. The little mouse is too cute, and the bag too. Looking forward to seeing more of you and your work.

  23. Heather

    Wow, what darling work! I’m trying to get better at crochet and your work is inspiring me.

    Your needle catcher is so beautiful!

    afistfuloflemons @ gmail.

  24. Pingback: The Shirt off His Back | UK City Crafter

  25. Pingback: Cross Cross Stitich | UK City Crafter

  26. Pingback: New Fabric Alert | UK City Crafter

  27. Pingback: Getting to the Point | UK City Crafter

  28. Pingback: The Shirt Off His Back 2 | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

