Friday Night With Friends – January 2015

Hello and welcome to the first FNWF of the New Year.

This link up is hosted by Cheryll at Gone Stitchin’ to give us a bit of stitchy solidarity across the globe! Thanks Cheryll

This week I’ve been concentrating on a bit of hand quilting so that means that my Daisy Chain quilt has been getting a bit of tlc 🙂

I’d marked a few lines on it before Christmas hoping that I’d have the opportunity to quilt during the holidays but that wasn’t to be and when I unwrapped the quilt during the week I discovered that all the lines had disappeared!

I used one of those blue water erasable markers so I was doubly surprised! Has anyone else experienced this? The quilt definitely didn’t get damp either.

Anyway I just marked it up again and have started quilting the borders.

20150110_114905I’m in awe of those quilters who hand quilt beautiful designs, with lines close together, maybe one day…

20150110_114932

So this what you would have seen me doing on Friday if you’d popped in for a cuppa

I’m determined that this will be a finish soon 😉

This year I’m joining in with Vicki of 2 Bag’s Full’s ‘Grow your Own Blog’ event which is on January 25th. It’s an opportunity to find new blogs to follow and have others find your blog too. The sign ups are open until January 15th so if you’d like to participate it’s not too late 🙂

To sign up go here.

Hope to see you there 🙂

Right, back to the quilting!

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

7 thoughts on “Friday Night With Friends – January 2015

  1. Your hand quilting is lovely. Looks like a pretty quilt too. When I cross hatch I don’t mark my quilt. I stick masking/painters tape down. I buy the width I want and don’t have to measure anything. Then just quilt along the edges of the tape and then reposition tape for some more lines

  2. I have used the blue markers before and have found that they stay in different fabrics for different lengths of time. I actually never use them any more now. Like Jo, I always use tape to mark out my lines although I just use one size – the basic slim tape. Stitching is looking good! 🙂

  3. Love your Daisy Chain quilt Chris and your hand quilting is so..so.. perfect. Wish I had been able to pop around to your place on Friday and watch you quilt….. I could have learned a lot I’m sure. I use the blue pens to mark applique placement. Haven’t had any lines disappear on me but …. heck…. you are making me nervous….:o)
    Have fun…..xxx

  4. Your quilting is looking wonderful and I also use tape when possible , I haven’t had much luck with markers . By the way you ar a no reply blogger , when I tried to reply to your comment on my blog I wasn’t able to but appreciate you stopping by .

Thank you for your comment :)

