2015 Here We Go!

Hello lovely people and welcome 🙂

I’ve  just spent a big part of the day dismantling all the Christmas decorations, the baubles have been sorted out and packed away, the tree is in it’s box (it’s an artificial one I hasten to add!), the cards are down and I have a few letters to reply to.

All that’s left is a pile of boxes which need to be put up in the attic which hubby will help me with later.

The house feels very still now as if it’s taking a deep breath preparing itself for what’s to come. As well it should as this year is going to be a very special one for us as a family as we have not one but two lovely things happening.

First of all in April my niece (the one who lives in New Zealand) is having a baby, a little girl, we’re all very excited and although I know I wont get to see the baby for a while I’m looking forward to hearing all about her and seeing lots of photos. I’ve been asked to make her a quilt so that’s definitely on my list of things to do.

The second family event is that our daughter and her fiancé are getting married on August 1st, we are so happy for them as they make a great couple. They are doing all the organising themselves so they are very busy bees! But I do have a little list of things which I shall be making for the Big Day which I’m really looking forward to doing.

Last year I decided to ‘Count my blessings’ by writing them down and keeping them in a jar

SAM_3828

Well today I emptied the jar and took a bit of time out to read them all, what an emotional task that was! I had a few tears as I remembered all the little details of those blessings.

20150106_095524

What struck me as I read them was that nothing on those pieces of paper was a huge thing, rather they were small, simple things that meant a lot. Most referred to activities done with friends and family which for one reason or another were particularly special on that day.

20150106_095643

I enjoyed reading them through so much that I’ve decided to do it again this year (and I already know that there’ll be two BIG blessings in my jar!) If anyone is pondering about joining in may I heartily recommend it as I’m sure I’d have forgotten a lot of my blessings if I hadn’t written them down. But by writing it all down I can look back on 2014 and see that it was a good year 🙂 (Of course , this could just be because I have a pretty bad memory and anyone else would have remembered anyway! 😉 )

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

5 thoughts on “2015 Here We Go!

  1. Happy 2015 Chris! What a lovely lot of blessings in your jar and a lovely way to start the new year by reading through them. Lots of lovely projects for you to work on this year and I look forward to following your progress. xx

  2. I do love the idea of writing your blessings down. As you say, it’s so easy to forget the smaller things. I think I may end up making some of these as gifts. I’m looking forward to hearing all about your year. 🙂

  3. busybeesbakehouse

    What a lovely idea. I know it’s a wee bit late but I think I’ll start my own ‘jar’ this weekend. Thank you for sharing such a charming post x

Thank you for your comment :)

