War of the Worlds

Hello lovely people, welcome 🙂

Hubby and I have just enjoyed a week end away, this is a fairly rare occurrence and all the more special for it.

Back in January we treated ourselves to tickets for the ‘final arena tour of Jeff Wayne’s War of the Worlds’ at Leeds FD arena.

Now I’m not sure what I was expecting but I suppose I thought the audience would be made up by people of a similar age to me who remembered The War of the Worlds being released in 1978 but no, it seems that unbeknown to me it has gathered a cult following and the arena was chock a block full, all 13,500 seats, with folk from all age groups enjoying the spectacle.

I took a couple of photos of the set to show you…

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The music, singing and special effects were all outstanding.

SAM_4780

This alien pod appeared from the rafters and spewed out real flames!

SAM_4782

And here are my souvenirs of the trip, our tickets and tissue paper leaves which floated down on us during the song ‘Forever Autumn’.

Well worth going to see, if you get the chance 🙂

Now Leeds is a couple of hours drive away from where we live so you’ll be pleased to know that I took some stitching to do during the journey! But as it’s a pressie I can’t show it to you – yet 🙂

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “War of the Worlds

  1. Wow – lucky you. what a fantastic experience! We have a new copy of the original which we often have blasting out in the car. Have to say you can’t beat Richard Burton’s gorgeous voice. xx

Thank you for your comment :)

