FMQ3

Welcome lovely people 🙂

My sewing machine is back from being serviced 🙂 🙂 🙂 I missed it!

I was hoping that it would sew better and sound quieter but it doesn’t. Apart from the stitch length (which has definitely changed) everything else seems to be the same.

I suppose that means that my Bernina has stood the test of time and is as good now as it was when it was brand spanking new 26 years ago.

To welcome it back I did the next chapter from my fmq Craftsy class, I’d watched it while my machine was away and done all the designs on paper so I was ready to go. This was all about adding and removing lines (?)

Interlocking leaves, I experimented with a few different types, I can see this being useful in a border.

SAM_4678
you can also see some interlocking hearts underneath the leaves.

I also did an interlocking leaves meander design – this was quite straight forward except I kept finding myself in a closed space but I guess the ability to see ahead of yourself comes with practise.

SAM_4686

I really like this swirl flower design, it was fun to do and I think it looks very effective.

SAM_4684and interlocking stars – struggled with this, probably because I don’t really like it!

SAM_4687

and I also had another go at pebbles, loopy lines and stars and straight lines in the spaces between the new designs.

Still need to pluck up the courage to do something on a real quilt!

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

 

 

8 thoughts on “FMQ3

  1. I think you are doing a great job of your machine quilting. It all looks lovely and your stitches are nice and even even on the curves! If you are nervous about moving on to a “real” quilt how about getting a cheater panel and use that as your first practice quilt? When you are finished you would have a nice baby quilt and your confidence will increase!

  2. Hello Chris,

    These are really great designs – I especially like the swirly flowers. I love the way you spent the time while your machine was away thinking about what you would stitch next.

    Why not do lots of practice blocks and then join the best ones together later as a quilt? The not so brilliant ones could be cushions or tea cosies.

    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!

    Love, Muv

Thank you for your comment :)

