Feed dogs down

Welcome 🙂

As I shared in my last post I’ve bought myself a Craftsy class on free motion quilting to help me build up my quilting skills so I will be a bit more confident about tackling the quilting on my Christmas quilt to name but one quilt which is waiting on my ‘to do’ pile.

As this was my very first class I wasn’t sure what to expect but have been very pleasantly surprised. So far I’ve watched 3 of the chapters and have had a go at all the designs shown. I’ve found the hints and tips the tutor gives really helpful and even at this early stage of practising I think my fmq-ing has improved!

Favourite tips so far are;

* When quilting a sharp corner such as a square or a star hesitate at the corner so 2 stitches are made rather than whizzing round onto the next side of the shape. This gives you a sharper point.

* When you stop have your needle down but then when you start have your needle up to avoid that jump you often get.

What do you think?

SAM_4567
Stippling was about all I’d done before and this ribbon effect is a variation on stippling – I do like the curvy one.
SAM_4572
Loopy lines with motifs, I played about with hearts and stars – that star one would look good on my Christmas quilt.
SAM_4574
Loopy lines again this time with flowers and leaves.
SAM_4575
and finally a leaf design I doodled.

Given that before this class I’d only done stippling, I’m quietly pleased. The next challenge will be seeing if I can do it on a large quilt.

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

10 thoughts on “Feed dogs down

Thank you for your comment :)

