Banner mania

Welcome lovely people 🙂

Well the week end saw hubby and I deliver our youngest to University and come home to an empty nest. So far it’s been very strange not to have one of our offspring in the home, I keep wandering into their rooms and mooching about before I give myself a little shake and get on with life again!

I’ve been determined to keep myself busy and had promised myself to ‘break the back’ of the Church banners I’m helping to make.

Monday afternoon saw three of us Banner group members working hard to prepare a couple of panels ready for sewing by other members.

This is what we achieved…please forgive the quality of the photos 🙂

SAM_4527
The candles will be outlined with black bias tube to give it a more stained glass effect.
SAM_4529
This one is already stitched, so we just prepared and attached the lettering which is now ready for stitching down.
SAM_4532
Very blurred photo – sorry!
SAM_4533
Just like the ‘Service’ panel this one is mainly finished just needing the lettering stitched down.

Lots of the black lettering was prepared and tweaked and twiddled before sticking on.

Picture pieces were cut out and positioned and tweaked and twiddled too.

Lots of shifting pieces left, right, up, down, rotated clockwise and anti clockwise before we were satisfied.

On Tuesday afternoon I thought I’d be a whizz and sew some bias tube down using my machine but after doing it I decided I didn’t like it so spent a good hour unpicking it all and will redo it by hand – sometime!

Today – Wednesday – I have plans to do some more with a friend’s help.

I’m feeling really happy about the progress now and am looking forward to sitting back a bit while other members get busy stitching 🙂

Just a little reminder, if you want the chance to make the Travelling Bunny – see post here – then please make sure you write a comment on the end of that post. I shall choose a name out of a hat on Friday.

Until next time,

Chris x

I’m linking this up to Esther Aliu’s WIPs on Wednesdays.

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Banner mania

  1. Hope your son does well at university Chris. He will soon be back again – probably with a large bag of washing!! The Banner panels are looking so good – such lovely clear designs. xx

Thank you for your comment :)

