Getting Ready

Hello and welcome lovely people 🙂

This week has been a busy one getting ready to send my youngest on his way to University.

Lots of lists have been written and lots of shopping has been bought and just when I thought there wasn’t any time to sew I realised that Son 2 needed a bag to keep all his medical supplies in. You know all the boring ‘just in case’ stuff you pack your children off with.

I used a new to me method of making the bag. The lining and outer bag are sewn onto the zip at the same time so you end up with a neat finish inside the bag.

I used this tutorial Cindy of Skip to my Lou and this is the result…

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The method was straightforward enough and definitely one I’ll use again.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The lining looks neat around the zipper and right inside the pouch there’s a little surprise…

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Just to bring a smile to anyone who finds it!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And here it is filled with ‘just in case’ medication.

The bag is made from an old pair of trousers which I was challenged to repurpose (see posts here and here) and the orange trim just jazzes it up a bit.

Right then, back to the packing again!

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post, and I hope you do! – then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you.

6 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. great idea – I need a medical bag to carry round with me! I’ve always done my zipper pouches like that – were you making the lining separately and then hand sewing it in?

Thank you for your comment :)

