Bloggy Hip Hop

Hello and welcome.

Today’s post comes courtesy of Wendy of The Crafter’s Apprentice , she kindly asked me to join in with this Round the World Blog Hop which is zooming around Blogland at the moment. It seems to be a great way to discover a few new blogs and get to know a bit more about the people who write them too.

The idea is that you get invited by someone to answer a few questions, then it’s my turn to nominate 3 other bloggers to join the Hop. The following week those three write a post and tag their own 3 bloggers.
However I do have a bit of a confession to make straight away! I’ve been having terrible problems with my internet during the last week and have only just been able to contact the ladies I wanted to nominate. No one has had time to reply as yet but I’ve put links to their blogs at the end of this post and hope that you’ll go visit them anyway 🙂
Here we go with the questions:

What am I working on at the moment?

Well, let’s see…I suppose my main project is a series of banners for my Church. I tend to make one, maybe two, banners a year but this year I’ve been asked to organise a team of people to design and create 16 panels to decorate a Church/school hall. It’s a massive undertaking and a lot of my time is taken up with it.

There’s a deadline to meet too so my focus is on finishing my bit so I can pass them onto the next person to work on.

SAM_4334

SAM_4417

But of course we all have several things on the go, don’t we?

So I also have my English paper pieced quilt which I tend to keep busy with on long car journeys and while I’m sitting in front of the TV. It’s getting close to being finished now – just borders to add 🙂 (and yes I have now unpicked those pesky edge hexagons and replaced them with ones with a decent seam allowance on them!)

SAM_4450

and there’s also my Daisy Chain quilt which needs a bit more hand quilting to finish it off (I admit this quilt, as my regular readers know only too well, has been repeatedly shelved and then pulled out again after a couple more months have passed by! – one day it will be finished!)

SAM_4159

and I’ve just started working on little bits and bobs to sell on a craft stall nearer Christmas – no photos to share yet 😉

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’m not sure it does, I guess that’s for others to judge but the projects I do purely for myself usually include my favourite details such as hand quilting, I love the kantha style of quilting so I’ll often sneak that in somewhere, and I do enjoy appliqué so maybe a motif or two gets stitched in place.

I definitely veer towards the colour blue for my projects and prefer muted colours to brights (of course the Church banners are an exception but then they’re not really for me are they 😉 ) so perhaps that gives my work a particular ‘look’ or style.

And just like Wendy, who nominated me, I do like to do several crafts so I sometimes do a bit of crochet or knitting or even upholstery.

Why do I create what I do?

The easy answer is I make things I’ll like having around me, or things I think friends will enjoy. I also enjoy having a choice of crafts to play with, so although my main love is sewing I really like to be able to sometimes put down the needle and thread and pick up my crochet hook or other crafty implement!

How does my creative process work?

Oh this is a tricky one!

Sometimes I see an image of something which I get inspired by, this was the case with my Basket of Roses, I saw a picture of a woven basket and just had to have a go and the roses were a happy after thought.

SAM_4399

Sometimes I see a pattern in a book which I fall in love with – this happened with my EPP quilt – I loved the original so much that I even used the same colours – luckily I had them all in my stash!

And then other times I just have a picture in my head which needs to be turned into reality – this was the case with my Gaggle of Geese wall hanging.

cropped-sam_42351.jpg

That’s it folks! I hope you’ve enjoyed finding out about what makes me tick 🙂

Here are three Blogs which I enjoy visiting, I hope you enjoy them too,

Frances at Fabadashery

Chrissie at Chrisssie Crafts and

Lucie at Lucie the Happy Quilter

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you 🙂

5 thoughts on “Bloggy Hip Hop

  1. it’s lovely to see so may of your projects all together. the church banners look amazing!

    thanks for the links, I know Chrissie already but I’ll enjoy visiting the other two.

Thank you for your comment :)

