September’s arrived

Do you know that funny feeling you get when you’ve been away and then have to get back into the swing of things again? Well I’m feeling a bit like that as I type away today, as if I don’t really know what I’m doing! So please accept my apologies if this doesn’t make much sense, it’s just me getting used to it all again ๐Ÿ™‚

August came and went surprisingly quickly, we had sad times at a family funeral, and happy times going on day trips with family we don’t get to see very often. I did a lot of gardening – our garden has got to the stage where it needs a hack back to get it in order, it’s still not there yet but Autumn is the season for serious pruning so I’m ready to go!

And of course I did some sewing (did you expect anything else from me?)

Most of the sewing I did was for my Church – the Church banner project (read about it here) which has taken HOURS and HOURS, days and days and is still no where near done. My Sewing/Dining room is festooned with half completed fabric panels.

SAM_4407

But it is slowly coming together now and a few of the panels have been given to others to work onย and for that I am grateful.

SAM_4417

SAM_4405

During any car trips I’ve been working on my EPP project, as it’s grown in size it’s been getting more and more difficult to handle and the bits of thread it has shed over everything has been a bit of a talking point. I’ve been trying to get everyone to believe that when they find a loose thread it’s lucky – a bit like the rhyme

‘See a penny, pick it up, all day long you’ll have good luck!’

But I’m not sure they’re buying into that theory ๐Ÿ˜‰

SAM_4453

I had fun removing most of the papers,

SAM_4412

SAM_4413

and now it looks like this…

SAM_4450

SAM_4451

SAM_4454

As you can see I’m at the putting borders on stage BUT I seem to have made a mistake along one side and not left enough seam allowance on. I’m having a ponder on how to avoid losing those star points without having to undo anything- any ideas please?

Do you like the new look blog? I spent a few happy hours playing and came up with this. From what I can see the only thing I don’t like is that it’s not clear as to how to comment and like posts. and as I love getting comments I’m going to have to get round that somehow.

Until next time,

Chris x

If you’d like to comment and/or ‘like’ this post then just click on the post title and you will be taken to the comment page – look forward to hearing from you ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “September’s arrived

  1. Welcome back Chris – lovely to hear from you. The colours of the banner are brilliant and what I can see so far is looking stunning. A big task to take on though. Your paper piecing is looking great too – it is so lovely when you take out the papers isn’t it! The new look blog also is very nice and easy to read – I am leaving my comment in the usual place – the box at the bottom of the post – so hope you receive it. xx

  2. Hi Chris – the new banner and new look are lovely and fresh! As for your quilt if it is the edge that is in the picture it appears that the blue half hexagons are the problem. While reverse sewing isn’t fun, I would removed the problem half hexagons and replace them with hexagons that do have enough seam allowance! It really would be a shame to loose the points. The quilt is a real jewel and the rusty colours against the blue just glow!

  3. wow, that EPP project is huge and you’ve done it so quickly! It looks great but I have no solution for you I’m afraid. The blog looks good, very fresh and clean.

Thank you for your comment :)

