Posh Napkins

Deep breath, in and out, in and out.

That’s better!

It turns out that the good folk at WordPress know all about the frustration their ‘improvements’ are causing and there is another way to publish posts which has not yet been changed. So this post is here not because I’ve mastered the updated platform just that I’ve found a way round it!

At last and finally I’ve got around to making another of those cute bread baskets I made here.

I was going to make it a couple of weeks ago at the June FNSI but I was hugely distracted by my Gaggle of Geese ๐Ÿ˜‰

My first basket is being used as a thread collector and is proving to be very useful indeed but I did want one to put my napkins in.

I also wanted it to be wipe clean and thanks to the lovely Lin of St Victor Quiltsย it is!
She suggested I use plastic inside this one and was so helpful in sharing her idea of using one of those super thin plastic cutting boards you can buy cheaply in supermarkets. Thin enough to cut up easily and flexible enough to wiggle into gaps.

I did my maths and worked out the dimensions the fabric and plastic needed to be – who says sewing isn’t academic! And I was away ๐Ÿ™‚
Here is my creation…

SAM_4291

Look at that gorgeous ribbon…my local market has a really good haberdashery stall which stocks all sorts of prettiness, needless to say they know my face ๐Ÿ˜‰

Of course once I’d made one I realised that I just NEEDED another one for my dressing table. A small one to put my jewellery in at night. I had to hunt high and low in my scrappy stash drawer to find some of the left over fabric from when I made my dressing table mat YEARS ago, but I managed it ๐Ÿ˜‰

SAM_4295

I can already see this will be handy to take away with me on holiday because it’s flat pack!

SAM_4302

Until next time,
Chris x

3 thoughts on “Posh Napkins

  1. they are lovely. Is the chopping board inside the two layers of fabric? And what are these chopping boards, I don’t think I’ve ever seen one?

Thank you for your comment :)

