Basket Case

I’ve yet again fallen into the trap of starting something new instead of tackling my pile of unfinished work!

Hands up who’s guilty as charged as well as me! Oops I can see a lot of hands up in the air 😉

I happened upon a picture of a quilt with a basket on it. Not just any old basket but a woven basket. As I’ve been playing with bias tubes quite a bit of late with my niece’s cushion covers I decided to try it out.

I started by drawing a basket shape I liked and then made oodles of bias tubes. Some of which became the warp (vertical threads) and the others got woven in between the warp threads to be the weft. You can see from the picture that a lot of pins were used to make this!

SAM_4172

I was surprised at quite how many tubes were needed – I ran out and had to make more.

SAM_4173

The loose ends were tucked under (with the invaluable help of Roxanne’s glue – good stuff but I’d be interested to know if anyone knows of a cheaper alternative?) and the end bars were stitched down on both sides.

SAM_4194

I made a simple bias tube plait for the handle and tucked it behind a slightly wider bias tube which covers the warp threads at the top and bottom of the basket.

SAM_4195

This is the result, I now want to back it, quilt it and then make some lovely 3 dimensional flowers to put in it.

SAM_4174

The majority of the woven basket isn’t stitched down which gives it a lovely ’rounded’ quality and in case you’re wondering the woven bias tubes are so tightly packed that you can’t see the background fabric through the weave.

Here I’ve put the borders on – guess what colour my flowers are going to be?!

SAM_4191
Has anyone noticed that the blue fabric is the same as I used for my Gaggle of Geese wall hanging? It’s my new favourite however, as ever, the photos just don’t do it justice.

Watch this space!

Have a lovely week end.

Until next time,

Chris x

14 thoughts on “Basket Case

  1. Karen K

    That is amazing!! Love the woven basket. Can’t wait to see all the details when you finish it. Yes, I noticed the fabric was same as your gaggle of geese.

  2. Love your basket and the tutorial was very interesting. The basket has so much texture. I have no ideal what colour the flowers will be but if I had to guess I would say yellows and oranges!

  3. that’s fab! What a great idea! I just use “fabric glue”, I buy it from Hobbycraft, it’s cheap and I’ve not had any problems with it.

  4. OMG.. this is soooooooooo pretty Chris.. and wow.. looks very technically challenge too..
    i’m guessing pink and yellow?? heehee.. nah… I’m not sure.. but I’ll watch your progress.. 😀

Thank you for your comment :)

