Bread or Thread

Good morning lovely people πŸ™‚

Last week I went along to my monthly quilter’s group, it’s still quite new to me and I’m still getting to know people but I enjoyed meeting everyone again and I hope I’m starting to put names to faces – the good news is that all the group wear name badges so newcomers can quickly learn who everyone is which is really helpful.

This month we had a visitor in from a local quilt shop and she talked us through how to make a bread basket. She’d kindly made up kits for us so all we had to do was sew πŸ™‚

This is my creation,

SAM_4202

SAM_4203

and I was pleased with the way it turned out to say that it was ALL hand stitched! Definitely a case of 15 minutes by machine or 2 hours plus by hand!

If you want to make one for yourself then you can find instructions for something very similar atΒ Blissful Sewing.

I wasn’t quite sure what I’d use it for as mine has cardboard inside it so it can’t be washed, I thought about it holding my paper napkins but it’s too small (I do quite like that idea and I may have to make another the correct size for them πŸ™‚ ) Then I thought of the perfect job for it which is to collect all my little threads and snippets of fabric when I’m sewing – a thread basket!

I’m going to get on with my geese picture now, hopefully I shall have something to show you by Thursday πŸ˜‰

Until next time,

Chris x

9 thoughts on “Bread or Thread

  1. love the fact it’s multipurpose….and that you can hand stitch or machine stitch…depending on how fast you need to have one made! Great idea! xox

  2. wow… I love to embroider and hand quilt and so on but can’t see the point of stitching by hand something that can be done on the machine! I admire your patience. OK, so I know some people love sewing by hand rather than machine but to me… It looks great though, I made the hubs one (on the machine!) to hold his change and keys and whatnot from his pockets. I just used interfacing so it can be washed, it still holds its shape.

  3. Pingback: Posh Napkins | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

