Geese update

Good Morning Lovely people πŸ™‚

I have been plodding on with my geese picture and am really enjoying the ‘make it up as you go along’ process.

This is it now…

SAM_4073

SAM_4075

as you can see I’ve just started adding the quilting, I’ve decided to sew wavy lines which follow the profile of the ‘ground’ and after a few initial wobbles I’m pleased with the decision. Truth be told I just really liked it without any quilting and didn’t want to ruin it but now I’ve started it I’m happy with the results.

I very much like the Kantha look about this style of quilting, it gives the impression of simplicity and ad hoc-ness to the design. A primitive look rather than a more polished look if you get my meaning.What style of quilting do you like? Hand or machine? Polished or primitive?

Mind you I wish I could do the more polished free motion quilting look myself. If I’m honest I know I can’t because I haven’t practised enough – one day I will work hard at learning the skill and thanks to the talented fmq quilter Leah Day of ‘The Free Motion Quilting Project‘ I already know where I shall go for inspiration and brilliant videos which show how to do it πŸ™‚

But for now it’s back to my hand quilting.

Until next time,

Chris x

 

5 thoughts on “Geese update

  1. Good morning Chris. Your geese are such fun and your quilting is working really well. I have to say that I much prefer the look of hand quilting but sometimes speed is of the essence! We were promised a whopper of a storm last night with strong winds etc – in the end all we got was an electrical storm and minimal rain! Ah well, the week is looking good – we are off to the seaside for the day tomorrow. xx

Thank you for your comment :)

