Geese on my mind

Good morning and welcome. Did you like my hint from my last post?

geese-03

Lately I have had geese on my mind!

I have always thought that ducks and geese are appealing creatures, I like their shape and the way they waddle about. We used to have a wild fowl sanctuary near to us and when the children were little I’d often take them there to see all the different species, we’d watch them and feed them and have a good time building memories :).

I must admit that my home has one or two (ahem!) ducks and geese. One visitor was cheeky enough to ask why every room had ducks or geese in and until that moment I genuinely hadn’t realised that there were  quite so many of the little creatures keeping me company!

So it was no surprise to my family when I started designing a goosey appliqué design! It’s inspired by a birthday card I received a few years ago. Now I’ve no idea what it will be when it’s finished but I’m just going to have fun playing 🙂

This is what I’ve done so far…

SAM_3918

I sewed my background then prepped and appliquéd the geese to it

SAM_3919

SAM_3922

SAM_3923

SAM_3924

I used freezer paper templates for the geese and prepared the pieces with starch, and stitched them on with silk thread.

Now I need to work out how to quilt it ( I seem to be making a habit of this ‘mulling over’ quilting designs lately 🙂 ), I’m thinking about keeping it quite simple as I actually like the piece just as it is.

What are you working on at the moment?

Until next time,

Chris x

 

 

6 thoughts on “Geese on my mind

  1. Love your geese. I had a collection of real geese in my younger years lol they all have their own personalities 🙂 Your project is very cute so far, can’t wait to see it finished ……Izz

  2. these are so lovely and I can’t wait to see the end product.. (I’m not really good in quilting.. just checking is this part of Applique?)

  3. Pingback: Cleaning Cupboards | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

