Patchwork of the Crosses

Good morning lovely people.

On Friday a few of my stitching friends and I went to a little village called Hemingford Grey in Cambridgeshire where a well known author and quilter used to live – Lucy Boston.

Now I have to admit I hadn’t heard of her until last year when I wrote about it here. At the time I was inspired to start making a small wall hanging based on Lucy’s well known quilt ‘Patchwork of the Crosses’ but sad to say I abandoned it because I used bright colours which while lovely just aren’t me.

SAM_4155

It’s taken a while to get round to visiting the house but I’m so glad we went. The owner, Lucy’s daughter in law, showed us round her home and shared all about the history of the place and told us lots of family stories about her Mum in law who she clearly holds in high regard.

We got to see many things which inspired Lucy in the children’s books she wrote and of course we got to see her quilts.

Now as you can appreciate we weren’t allowed to take photos inside the house so I can’t share any of the quilts with you, however here is a link to the website so you can browse the gallery for yourselves.

The gardens were so pretty, I think we timed our visit just right as all the iris’s looked stunning and the roses were just coming out. Here is a peek at what we saw.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

If any of you are ever around the area please consider going for a visit, we all really enjoyed our trip out and came back with a few goodies from the shop 🙂

Maybe I need to start that wall hanging again but using my favourite softer more muted colours this time.

Until next time,

Chris x

6 thoughts on “Patchwork of the Crosses

  1. the house and garden of Lucy Boston looks stunning.. 😀 and so is your crosses.. interesting geometrical pattern. 😉
    i’m going to check out the link.. thank you for sharing..;)

Thank you for your comment :)

