104 Stars

Good morning and welcome.

Back in January I came across a lovely quilt pattern in a magazine,

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I showed it to you here and here and possibly even here as well as I chartered my progress with making the English paper pieced stars.

Well today I can announce that all, yes that’s ALL. the stars are complete. All 104 of them. In fact there maybe one or two extras as well – I was having so much fun!

This is what 104 stars look like!

SAM_4077

SAM_4079

As I was getting close to my goal of 104 I started thinking about finding the background fabric and after EXTENSIVE research ( 😉 ) I whittled the selection down to these four…

SAM_4082

All four are variations of teal, one was a linen and I wasn’t convinced that mixing linen with cotton was a good idea, two were end of bolts and would need hunting down for any yardage so the winner was…

SAM_4084

and it was in the sale! Now that’s something which doesn’t happen very often 🙂

Now lovely people, I need some advice if you would, because it’s such a deep colour I’m wondering if it would be a good idea to pre wash it or not. What do you think?

Until next time,

Chris x

9 thoughts on “104 Stars

  1. Hi Chris, in my opinion if you haven’t washed the other fabrics then I wouldn’t wash the blue (for shrinkage issues). I haven’t found blue a problem as much as red or batiks, you could test a snippet on white kitchen towel if you’re worried about colourfastness. Loved your bluebell pics! – hope you were Ok with me adding a link.

  2. Hello Chris – yes I agree with Mandy – test a swatch with boiling water on white kitchen paper – you will soon see if it needs washing first. Love all your stars. The bluebells down here in Somerset are gorgeous – I had forgotten how intense the blue of them is. xx

  3. hi Chris – your stars are looking great. I agree with the other comments, blue is usually quite stable, unlike red… But a test piece sounds like the safest way to start.

  4. Pingback: Cleaning Cupboards | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

