Kimono Bag

Isn’t it funny how coincidences happen?

It was only last week when the thought of using a Japanese influence for some items in the great trouser challenge came to me, and this week I went to my new quilting group and we were shown how to make a little Japanese kimono bag!

I smiled 🙂

This is what we made…

SAM_3891

SAM_3890

I enjoyed sitting with like minded folk hand stitching away, then folding and stitching some more to make this little bag.

It has a little pocket in the kimono which you can slip a lavender bag in (or it could be a secret place for your chocolate stash!)

SAM_3889

When I got back home I decided to see what other kimono patterns were out there on the web. I found this one:

http://scmagnolia.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/origami-kimono.html

and made this…

SAM_3893

no special pocket to hold chocolate though 😉

Here’s a couple of other examples I found;

http://mairuru.blogspot.co.uk/2008/08/how-to-make-origami-kimono.html

http://ballpointbliss.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/tutorial-how-to-make-japanese-bookmark.html?m=1

Love making new things!

Until next time,

Chris x

4 thoughts on “Kimono Bag

Thank you for your comment :)

