Irish Chain

My poor neglected Irish Chain quilt is yet again being given some much needed attention. It has become one of those projects that gets picked up for a short time and then buried in the depths of the sewing pile for a long time! I know it will be beautiful when it’s finished, it’s just getting it to that stage 😦

This week it has moved from being this

SAM_3156

to this…

SAM_3753

I always think that a border just changes a top into something that looks a bit more finished. The plan is to now add the final border, which I want to appliqué with  flowers. I’ve designed the border which involves more appliqué than I’ve ever done before – gulp! (Although nothing on the scale of Esther Aliu’s ‘Love Entwined‘ quilt which one day I will do.)

Do you have any ‘take out, do a bit then put away’ projects lurking in your sewing baskets?

Until next time,

Chris x

8 thoughts on “Irish Chain

  1. I have not counted them but I suspect I probably have in the region of a dozen such projects. What a difference adding a border has made to your Irish Chain. I really look forward to seeing the applique work in the next border. Well done Chris.

  2. it is looking lovely! I think it’s good to have a “filler” project, something you know is always there waiting when you’ve finished something else and don’t know what to do next. I have about 90 of them!

  3. I’m a firm believer in borders. Your quilt to is amazing. You can tell you put alot of heart and work into to it.
    I have many different projects of crafts and sewing going on at all times. I got caught up with my projects one time, I was bored silly, so I hurried up and start a couple projects and felt better and added more and more. 🙂

Thank you for your comment :)

