Weaving and smocking

For quite some time now I’ve been thinking about joining a quilting group, I do have one that meets quite near to where I live so late last year I applied to go onto their waiting list, and although I am not officially a member yet I am able to go along to their once a month meetings as a visitor.

I went last night and this is what we did…

SAM_3716

SAM_3715

SAM_3717

This is the back of the work…

SAM_3718

and this is the template we used…

SAM_3719

It’s called Canadian weave smocking and we just drew around the template on our fabric and stitched it in the way we were shown and voilà! A lovely textured piece of fabric.

I did have a quick look on the internet to see if there were any other patterns and it seems that there are and there are other ways of doing it which don’t use a template so I think I will experiment a bit more with it.

Not sure what I shall use it for but I really enjoyed learning something new and meeting new (and old) friends.

Has anyone else tried this technique?

Until next time,

Chris x

10 thoughts on “Weaving and smocking

  1. Wow! That looks like some sort of magical origami! I love my craft group – not a quilting group per se, but quilters in the group who are helping me as I slowly learn the techniques…Chrissie x

  2. These are amazing. I’ve always wanted to try smocking. Your squares are gorgeous, but it looks so complicated.
    Sounds like and looks like you had a wonderful first venture with the quilting group.
    Well done.
    🙂

  3. Wow! That’s really beautiful! I love smocking but I’ve only ever done the traditional smocking you see on children’s clothes. I hope you enjoy your group. 🙂

  4. I have tried something similar to this once – but only a small sample piece. It is a lot of fun to do (magic how it comes together!), but not sure what to use it for though? I think yours would make a nice cushion with perhaps a few beads sewn on here and there. Glad that you have found a local group Chris – it’s lovely that you can spend time with some quilty friends 🙂 xx

Thank you for your comment :)

