A New Project for FNSI

A big welcome to any new visitors from FNSI.

This year I have been on a mini mission to make some seasonal decorations for my home, and I thought it was high time that I started making two lap quilts to decorate my living room this Christmas.

I bought the fabric for them back in January when I wrote this To Do list on my very first blog post (see point 8).

I kept looking at the fabric through the year but couldn’t make my mind up what design I wanted to make. I’ve almost cut into the fabric several times but each time I chickened out and, you know, I’m so glad I did because last week I saw THE design!

It’s not new, in fact I made a quilt last year using this very design for my Mum, but I happened to see a picture of the quilt made in Christmas fabrics and it just clicked with me 🙂 .

Anyhow, now I’ve decided I’ve been busy cutting all the pieces out this week and getting them ready to go for the Friday evening sew in.

SAM_3519

Lots of cutting (and a sore arm!)

Marking all my diagonals – anyone else do this?

SAM_3521

all done 😀

SAM_3523

And on Friday evening I started piecing some of the fabric together.

SAM_3526

everything to hand and busy chain piecing.

It was lovely to think that around the world there were ladies keeping me company 🙂

Thanks

Until next time,

Chris x

8 thoughts on “A New Project for FNSI

  1. I wish it was cold enough in Australia to make a Christmas throw!! I love the pattern and colours in your chosen fabric – beautiful.
    I also mark my diagonals, although I still manage to sew wonky lines…

  2. Hello Chris. Nice fabrics. Yes, I draw in the diagonals but I have recently been reading about an angle thingy that you can tape to your machine so that you can machine without marking. You can get them from The Cotton Patch so it is on my list for my next order.Sorry can’t find the right name at the moment but will let you know when I do.

  3. I agree it’s lovely to think of us all stitching together! Can’t wait to see how your quilt comes out, I also love the rose fobs you made a great idea to have them all the same so you can find them easily when you go to class.

Thank you for your comment :)

