Snip snip!

Sheffield, in Yorkshire, used to be the UK s Number 1 place for the manufacture of scissors and cutlery, nowadays, due to a changing world, there are only two firms left which make scissors. Which, I think, is rather sad. The metal bits which make up the scissors are bought in from Italy (years ago they were also manufactured in Sheffield) but they are then crafted into high quality scissors via a plethora of processes. Read a bit about it here.

Last month was my birthday and I was treated to a pair of thread snips made by one of these firms – Ernest Wright & Son LtdThe snips took 5 long weeks to arrive (well they are handmade!) finally arriving on the very day that Fiona from Celtic Thistle Stitches told me that her favourite piece of sewing equipment was her thread snips!

SAM_3492
I’ve just noticed that they are so shiny you can see my camera’s reflection in them!

Now I’ve never owned thread snips before so it has taken me a while to get used to using them but this pair are a pleasure to use. they feel smooth and solid and are well balanced. They cut cleanly and you can definitely tell they are quality snips.

As you can see they are beautiful in a utilitarian workmanship sort of way but if I’m honest they aren’t very pretty (what snips are for that matter!) So I thought I’d make a scissor (thread snip?) fob for them, something soft and small which wouldn’t get in the way. This is what I came up with…

SAM_3495

SAM_3500
Much prettier 😉

The sweet little rose and leaf patterns came from Attic 24  here, I just crocheted a string of chain and sewed the whole thing together.

In fact I made three fobs, all the same, for my scissors. So now when I go out somewhere sewing I wont need to try too hard to keep track of my scissors. I can just say, ‘Mine are the ones with the rose fob on,’ easy 🙂

SAM_3499

SAM_3503

By the way this post isn’t sponsored at all but if you do decide to purchase something off Ernest Wright’s website for yourself please mention me – you never know they might let us have a give away!

Until next time,

Chris x

4 thoughts on “Snip snip!

  1. I don’t know what I’d do without my snippers. I’ve had too many pairs over the past few decades to count. I used to work for clothing manufactures and snippers are number one on the list of absolutely have to have tools. The pair I have now is made by Gold Seal in Florida. I never knew that before I checked a few minutes ago. I don’t work outside the home now, so I use my snippers for use in my home sewing and needlework.
    I hadn’t thought of adding a fob, but if I could make as lovely roses as you do I might.
    I enjoyed your post very much. 🙂

  2. I like your fobs! On my fabric scissors I just tied a small piece of jersey to help my boyfriend realise that they’re my fabric scissors and therefore should not be used to cut all kinds of random stuff. These fobs are definitely more fun.

Thank you for your comment :)

