Pain in the neck

and in the shoulders and the back 😦

You may recall that earlier on in October I started making a cushion cover using Welsh quilting and I was really enjoying it but I was also really suffering with a sore neck, shoulder and back because of the awkward positions I was getting myself into!

Has anyone else experienced this?

I was using a huge 21″ hoop for my work, it was the only hoop I had and I’ve used it for all my other hand quilty projects, but I suppose because the designs I’m quilting are much more intricate than any I’d done before my arms were having to stretch and contort more so I could quilt neatly.

As soon as I realised what the cause was I bought a smaller 14″ hoop and voilà, as if by magic, the pain went away.

So the lesson I’ve learnt is that sometimes you really do need the proper tools for the job and you can’t just make do with what you have!

Here’s a peep of today’s work…

SAM_3449

SAM_3450

What piece of sewing equipment do you find brilliant?

Have a lovely week end with lots of sewing 🙂

Until next time,

Chris x

6 thoughts on “Pain in the neck

  1. That’s amazing quilting, will look awesome when finished.
    For embroidery I love my hoop stand, it goes under my leg and keeps the hoop still so I have 2 free hands, really useful piece of kit

    On a separate note – I’m running a competition for 2 free tickets to the Harrogate knitting and stitching show – didn’t know if you would be interested http://www.beccaloucreates.blogspot.com

Thank you for your comment :)

