Harrogate Quilting Show

Last week I was lucky enough to be able to visit the Harrogate Quilting and Stitching show in Yorkshire.

Some of you will know that my hubby is Welsh and by association I have an interest in all things Welsh, so when I saw that there was a class on Welsh quilting I couldn’t resist it! Daughter and I signed up and thoroughly enjoyed spending an hour learning how to design a cushion (pillow) cover using up to three traditional Welsh motifs. The tutor was Sandie Lush and she talked us through typical motifs and features and helped us to incorporate them into our designs.

SAM_3217

I rashly promised to make up my daughter’s design for a Christmas present and this is what she came up with…

SAM_3219

The traditional motifs we were playing about with were a spiral, a heart and a leaf shape and she has tweaked them to incorporate a more Celtic feel to them – perhaps not what the tutor had in mind but it is original and I love it!

We also spent a fair bit of time looking at all the wonderful exhibits, here are a couple which caught my eye…

SAM_3209

I do tend to be drawn to quilts with blue tones. Apologies to the anonymous maker of this lovely quilt, I’m usually careful to photograph the details but I slipped up with this one.

I loved the ‘looseness’ of the quilted feathers and those occasional twirls gave it all a lovely movement (I don’t really know what I’m talking about as you can probably tell πŸ˜‰ )

SAM_3210

This next one is called ‘From Durango to Silverton Colorado’ by Jean Bartlett.

SAM_3198

I was intrigued by the technique used on this one. If you have a look at the next photo you can see lots of tiny pieces of fabric held down by sheer netting and stitched in place – clever πŸ™‚

SAM_3199

Then there was THE SHOPPING! I went with a list and did manage to cross off two items from the seven that were on it πŸ™‚

I also bought these little charms

SAM_3221

I think I’ll have to use one of them on a certain cushion cover, but what to do with the other three?

Until next time,

Chris x

4 thoughts on “Harrogate Quilting Show

  1. Your daughter’s design is going to look great all quilted up! Are you going to machine quilt it or quilt it by hand? … and one of those wee silver charms will give it a lovely finishing touch! Natalie x

  2. Pingback: Cwiltio Cymreig | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

