Summer Mittens

We are in the middle of a glorious patch of weather and I’ve been commissioned to make some woolly mittens!

I’m sitting out in the garden crocheting away whilst soaking up a few rays πŸ™‚

I must have made this pattern up at least six times now πŸ™‚ I’m getting pretty expert at it! This is the link for it although my version is slightly different as I put thumbs in (please note that the instructions use the American abbreviations).

This is the first glove in progress

SAM_2874

Working with yarn when it’s so hot outside isn’t my favourite pass time, I’d rather sew or even just slob πŸ˜‰

A little while ago I came across an article on the Australian blog Red Brolly. It talked about an English quilter called Lucy Boston who used to live in a village called Hemingford Grey. She is famous for writing a series of children’s books and also for making quilts. I was really curious as I live near Hemingford Grey and had never heard of her or her books or her quilts! Thank goodness for Blogland and knowledgeable people otherwise I might never have discovered her!

Her house is open to the public and I will definitely be visiting it sometime soon but in the meantime I thought I’d have a go at making a small version of one of her quilts. The quilt I’m going to have a go at is English paper pieced so it will be a great little project for my holiday which is fast approaching (getting excited πŸ™‚ )

The quilt is called Patchwork of the Crosses and I thought I’d make four blocks and make a wall hanging for my sewing/dining room.

SoΒ far I’ve bought the fabric and have started cutting out the pieces.

SAM_2877

It is sooo tempting to start on it right now but I. Must. Wait. Until. My. Holidays!

Ok – back to the mittens πŸ™‚

Until next time,

Chris x

2 thoughts on “Summer Mittens

  1. Pingback: Patchwork of the Crosses | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

