Elderflowers and MORE bugs!

We’ve had a glorious weekend and I’ve spent a lot of time outside, either gardening or pottering 🙂

My hubby and I went for a walking mission to find elderflowers. We mistakenly thought it would be easy as they grow just about everywhere, but no, the ones we found which were suitable (not near any heavy roads because of pollution) were heavily protected by nettles surrounding them!

We did eventually find enough flowers to make elderflower cordial – recipe here – it’s really easy to make and tastes delicious.

SAM_2861

I use slightly less sugar than in the recipe and 4 lemons rather than a mix of lemons and limes.

SAM_2862

 

 

Are you fed up of my bugs yet?

I did spend quite a bit of time at the weekend making some more – I made a beautiful metallic blue one 🙂  as well as others.

SAM_2864

AND I decided what to do with them too.

In my bedroom I hang my necklaces from a hook on the wall – not a pretty hook – we’re talking about pure function here.

SAM_2870

So I thought, ‘I wonder if my necklaces would look good hanging from my bug buttons?’

SAM_2866

and one thing led to another and before you knew it a Tah-dah moment was born!

SAM_2868

SAM_2872

Those of you who are eagle eyed will notice that the rather ugly, but functional, hook is still on view so I’ll still have to do something about that!

Until next time,

Chris x

7 thoughts on “Elderflowers and MORE bugs!

  1. Liking the cordial! We made some the other day, thanks to the neighbours overgrown hedges! We picked up some cream soda to mix with it and sprig if mint from the garden .. heavenly. Loving tha little bugs!

  2. What a brilliant idea for hanging your necklaces! I’ve never made elderflower cordial, but I did once make elderflower wine, which was absolutely delicious, but very fiddly. Still think the beetles are gorgeous!

  3. cerise douce

    I always wanted to make elderflower cordial. It may be too late this year but I will definately try making it next season. Oh I love your bugs! They are so sweet.

Thank you for your comment :)

