Bishy barney bee

What, you may ask, is a Bishy barney bee – unless you come from Norfolk that is!

A Bishy barney bee is the local Norfolk name for a ladybird or ladybug. Goodness knows how that name came about – are there any Norfolk people reading this who can explain? 🙂

Now, I might have hinted that I’m enjoying a revival of interest in embroidery. Actually it would be more honest to say that I’m enjoying a first time round interest in embroidery! I’ve always admired it but never really been inspired to give it a go.That is, apart from cross stitch (I was quite into that several years ago), blackwork (I loved that for a while too), the occasional backstitch picture, and blanket stitch appliqué design. Actually putting it all down on ‘paper’ perhaps I have done quite a bit of embroidery!

I stumbled upon Elizabeth Braun’s blog Sew in Love and was inspired by a tutorial she has put together on Stumpwork ladybirds and beetles – link here.

Her explanation and photos were so clear that I was encouraged to give it a go.

Just remember I am a beginner…

ladybird

The satin stitch is a bit wonky and the body certainly isn’t symmetrical but, you know, it’s OK.

I did a few more beetles using any ‘special’ thread I happened to have  🙂

SAM_2839

The little beetle in the bottom left is embroidered with metallic thread which was AWFUL to sew with but I loved the shimmer on the wing cases.

SAM_2841

This rather poorly focused photo was supposed to show you that the beetles are slightly raised.

SAM_2844

The legs really finish off these little bugs 🙂

I embroidered a leaf around the bugs using back stitch.

SAM_2848

SAM_2849

So now what do I do with this bit of embroidery? What can I turn it into so it doesn’t end up in a drawer? Answers on a postcard please (or in the comments box 😉 )

Apologies about the photography in this post, my camera just isn’t up to doing close ups of tiny objects (these beetles are only 3/4 inch long).

Until next time,

Chris x

7 thoughts on “Bishy barney bee

  1. Bethan Davies

    I think they’d look great as earrings – backed on invisible binding or sitting on an appliqué leaf! Maybe a ladybird necklace!

  2. Jon

    Did you use the macro setting when taking the close up pics? If not, then that might help to get them a bit more focused. Although, to be honest, they’re pretty cool already! 😀

  3. Wow! I think these little beetles are amazing. I’ve only tried stumpwork once, and I loved doing it, but I did find it quite tricky. I think the photos do show the 3D effect, but as Jon says, a macro setting would probably help. Thanks for the link to the tutorial – I will definitely be taking a look.

  4. they are fabulous! I’ve never tried stumpwork, it frightens me a bit. Ideas for what you can do with it? Picture/cushion/bag/pouch… usual suspects!

Thank you for your comment :)

