It’s in the bag

My little experiment, which I mentioned in my last post, is now a finished project 🙂

You know what it’s like, you have a picture in your head of something which just wont go away so you try to work out how to make it. Well this was one of those projects.

I knew I wanted to use framed hexagons to make the project, and they needed to be quite large so I could showcase some gorgeous fabric. I also wanted to decorate it with a bit of amateurish embroidery (have I mentioned that I’m really enjoying embroidery at the moment?)

SAM_2823

The colours of the floss look too bright in the photo, really they are quite muted and go well with the fabrics.

I just did a border of fly stitch around the hexies. Does anyone else call this Lazy Y stitch?

SAM_2829

SAM_2828

Then I used ladder stitch to sew the sides together, and finally fudged the base together! Can you see how I left two of the hexagon’s bases unsewn until I’d done the base – this allows for extra fudging 😉

SAM_2833

SAM_2834

The closure was some little rings I got from a plumbers merchants and threaded a velvet ribbon through.

SAM_2832

…and the final touch was to sew on some vintage buttons – nothing matching, just a lovely jumble of mis-matched colours and styles.

SAM_2836

I’m quietly pleased with how it has turned out – it just needs something nice to go in it now and then it can go in my present box 🙂

What have you been up to lately?

Until next time,

Chris x

14 thoughts on “It’s in the bag

  1. Lynda

    Wow! I hope you are saving these things for a big Christmas sale for all your friends! They are so lovely.

  2. Pingback: Pretty Little Bags | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

