A Little Bit of This and That

That ‘all sewn out’ feeling is starting to disappear 😉

I delivered the stoles (see my last post) to my friend and I think it’s fair to say that she was very pleased with them. This same friend has just moved house so my hubby and I visited her family today and took another little hand crafted something to welcome them into their new home.

SAM_2743

I  made this a little while ago and had it stashed away ready for when the move happened.

SAM_2746

The embroidery design is a freebie by Bronwyn Hayes of Red Brolly and can be found here. I love the designs Bronwyn creates – such a talented lady.

 

Now, what do you do when your student son comes home from university with his favourite jacket looking like this?

SAM_2759

SAM_2760

I suppose I did what most Mums would do and I took him shopping for a new one but we searched high and low for a suitable summer weight jacket and struggled to find any. Why oh why do shops not stock summer jackets in summer? It is a mystery!

So I decided to do a bit of frugal stitching. I checked the sleeve length and cut off the jacket’s cuffs, then I carefully turned the raw edges in

SAM_2762

 

and stitched them together…

SAM_2764

and now we have a jacket which will last another season 🙂

In the meantime I must keep a look out for when shops  sell summer jackets! – any ideas?

Until next time,

Chris x

5 thoughts on “A Little Bit of This and That

  1. This made me laugh! I remember the days when my lads used to come home with worn out clothes – I don’t think they ever asked me to repair them though. MInd you, nowadays clothing is sold looking ‘distressed’ with rips and holes, so I guess it would be as well to check before launching in with a repair job! Love the little “New Home’ embroidery – it’s a great present.

Thank you for your comment :)

