Mai and Rhiannon

Here in the UK we’ve just had a Bank holiday weekend and we as a family, minus one 😦 , have had a mini trip to Germany to see friends. I took with me a little Tilda rabbit which I can show you now the recipient has had her pressie 🙂

SAM_2671

Mai the rabbit is an avid gardener – just like my friend 😉 She has a smock covered in watering cans and decorated in flower buttons, I wanted to find some gardening tools for her to carry but no luck so she went with a packet of seeds instead.

SAM_2672

I made her using an altered version of the Tilda pattern. The reason being that a while ago my daughter bought me some fabric (here) and I decided to make a Tilda inspired creature using it.

I wanted to make a cat and altered the pattern so it was cat like but when I’d half made it up I thought it was still too much like a rabbit so I started again and rather than abandon the pieces I turned it into Mai! She turned out really cute – what do you think?

SAM_2675

The main problem with the cat pattern were the feet so I had a major rethink and changed them so my cat – Rhiannon – now has paws.

She’s also got a long tail and cute ears (this is the third set of ears I made for her! It was becoming a family joke when I kept asking, ‘ Are these ears catty enough?’)

SAM_2676

Of course with ears like this you just can’t wear the usual Tilda hat so I created one specially for her, held on with elastic.

Does anyone out in Blogland know how much you have to alter a pattern before it becomes an original? Not that I’m thinking of selling the pattern but I do often see very similar designs marketed as originals and just wondered.

So what have you been getting up to this week?

Until next time,

Chris x

 

2 thoughts on “Mai and Rhiannon

Thank you for your comment :)

