Covering my Bottom

🙂 🙂 🙂 sooooo exciting!

My chair is being transformed, and it is so nearly finished.

I did my homework of sewing the out back and out arms on …

SAM_2623

It took HOURS. Using a curved needle is a skill in itself, mine kept stabbing me – it reminded me of when I had to use the vicious long needle here!

Apparently I didn’t do the ladder stitch quite right, I should have kept more tension in the thread as I sewed so when I pulled the out back down the stitches wouldn’t show. As it is mine do show a bit but it’s not too bad and I shall know for next time 🙂

I spent class time tensioning the back and arms and securing them with tacks to underneath the seat, then fitting the bottom cloth (sadly I discovered it wasn’t called an out bottom 😉 ) so the mess underneath the chair is hidden. The bottom cloth is traditionally black – not sure why – and has to be taut so it doesn’t sag and so isn’t noticeable when you look at the chair.

SAM_2625

Soooo I only have a bit more stitching and tacking the bottom cloth in place and then…done 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

You may have noticed a new button on my sidebar for an ATC Swap hosted by Very Berry Handmade. Artist Trading Cards are little pieces of art, they are only 2 ½ by 3 ½ inches big so not much space to be creative – or so I thought. After googling them I was astounded at how creative people made them.

Now I wouldn’t class myself as an artist by any stretch of the imagination but this is something I’ve never done before so I thought I’d get out of my comfort zone and give it a go. Funnily enough the swap theme is ‘Something new’ so just by making one I’ll have fulfilled that 😉

This is my progress so far…

A new day dawning
A new day dawning

Lots to do yet but it’s started and that can be the hardest part sometimes can’t it?

What’s the last thing you did which was out of your comfort zone?

Until next time,

Chris x

4 thoughts on “Covering my Bottom

    1. Thank you but I hasten to add that I’ve only been able to do this because of the course I go to – left to my own devices I too would reach for the staple gun 🙂

  1. Pingback: ATC Finale | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

