Mystery Objects

What a lovely Bank Holiday week end 🙂 The sun shone all week end, you couldn’t ask for nicer weather 🙂

We went to visit my parents and helped them decorate their kitchen, just a couple of coats of paint to make everything fresh. It was soon done leaving plenty of time to chat and go for a lovely walk in the almost bluebell festooned woods 😉

My Mum had been having a sort out of some drawers and presented me with some old cross stitch designs I’d made as a young girl…

SAM_2584

Some linen with an embroidery design printed on it.

SAM_2582

A half done embroidery with its original instructions from a magazine (a very old Woman’s Weekly)

SAM_2583

Some embroidery transfers

SAM_2586

A piece of fine crochet I’d designed and worked up many (many)years ago

SAM_2589

AND some mystery objects

mystery objects

My Mum remembers using these strange objects to do some sort of embroidery – she stitched over them in a special way and then cut away the thread leaving a design behind… Anyone out there recognise what they are, and how to use them? I’d love to know.

In the meantime I’m going to have a think about what I can do with all these treasures so that they don’t just get pushed from one of my Mum’s drawers into one of mine 😉 Any ideas?

Until next time,

Chris x

4 thoughts on “Mystery Objects

  1. Love the varied hidden treasures found…
    I’ve no idea what the mystery items original purpose was but
    as a quilter… I see some lovely hand quilting patterns. 🙂

  2. buntyw

    I have your mystery object – bought in a job lot at my local auction!
    It’s called ‘Kay’s Practical Embroider’ mine was priced 3/6
    Patent number 466488 supplied by H Kay, 18, West Park Drive, Blackpool
    It looks like the metal pieces act as a template and you embroider over them with wool – it seems to be aimed at school children!

    1. Thank you VERY much for solving the mystery 🙂 My Mother remembers embroidering over the top of them but I’m still wondering how you got the templates out afterwards without ruining the fabric! Google search time!

      > Date: Wed, 8 May 2013 08:10:45 +0000 > To: ukcitycrafter@live.co.uk >

Thank you for your comment :)

