Armless Enough

I spent HOURS this week trying to cover the arm of my chair with fabric AND for it to look good. HOURS and HOURS!

It wasn’t until Monday that I realised there was a trick to it, but even then I struggled to get it to look as good (or even vaguely as good) as the arm my upholstery tutor did.

SAM_2507
My Tutor’s side
SAM_2510
and my side, there are a lot more gathers and they are distorting the front of the arm which you can’t see in this photo.

Yesterday, chair class day, my tutor made some quite minor tweaks and it all looked good – you just can’t beat experience when it comes to practical skills can you? Thanks Sue πŸ™‚

SAM_2534
The gathers are now only at the side so the front looks smooth.

The chair is on its way – and very exciting it is too after recent frustrations. I’ve started putting the stud trim around the legs…

SAM_2533

SAM_2532

Looks good doesn’t it?

Three weeks to go and the goal is in sight πŸ™‚ – just wondering about another project now!

 

With the help of DaisyBelleCraftsΒ (a self confessed lover of all things Tilda πŸ™‚ ) I’ve decided to make a Tilda-inspired creature with my new fabric.

The pieces are cut out and waiting in the wings.

SAM_2537

They are at the back of a lengthy queue of crafty things on my ‘to do’ list – but I think they may well jump to the front πŸ˜‰

Until next time,

Chris x

3 thoughts on “Armless Enough

  1. daisybellecrafts

    Cann’t wait to see your creature when it’s finished. That is one beautiful chair, and I really like the upholstery fabric too, (it is the kind of design I would have chosen myself). You have done a great job so far with it.

Thank you for your comment :)

