Back to Business

As you may know I have been busy making a couple of banners for my church. They are for the Lent and Easter season and yesterday I put the first one up.

This one represents the temple curtain (or sin)  separating man and God (if you would like a fuller explanation then this is a good link) and is for display during Lent. Now I know Lent is almost over but next year the plan is that it’ll go up on Ash Wednesday, still better later than never so here it is…SAM_2391As you can see it’s hanging very high, which could be a big problem but some men from the church have cleverly set up a pulley system which you can easily lower to hook the banner onto and then pull it up to where you want it – thanks guys!

Here’s a closer view…

SAM_2392

The next one – which is really this one with a ‘torn curtain’ in front of it – goes up on Thursday evening ready for Good Friday.

So that was my morning activity – very enjoyable especially as there was a coffee morning happening in church at the time so I had company and refreshments on hand 🙂 . I did have to dash off to get to my Upholstery class in time though. Progress is tangible now. I didn’t do my homework last week for the simple reason that I didn’t really understand how to do it! After asking for clarification I was so glad I hadn’t even attempted it as I know I’d have made a mess of it!

I had to pin and stitch the fabric to the back of the chair – sounds straightforward doesn’t it? And it was when you had someone with you to guide you.

SAM_2394

The little pleats will be on show when the outer fabric is put on so I tried to get them even.

SAM_2396

This took a couple of hours to do – yes really!

Then the tutor took over and showed me how to shape part of the arm…

SAM_2395

and now I’m supposed to do the same on the other side – help! It involves cutting the fabric so you have to be pretty sure of what you’re doing – which I’m not! I think I’ll have to go very slowly with the cutting ‘cos we all know you can’t undo a cut!

My next upholstery class wont be until after Easter now so I’ve a couple of weeks to pluck up some courage and have a go – or wimp out and do it when my tutor is around to rescue me! What would you do?

Until next time,

Chris x

One thought on “Back to Business

  1. Pingback: New Term at the Chair School | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

