Chocks Away

What a LOVELY weekend I’ve just had!

Saturday started with a Ladies Breakfast run by my church. Any church lady (and this includes daughters and non church friends too) have a gorgeous full English breakfast at a local pub.

My church meets at two sites so we don’t necessarily get to see each other often so this is a great opportunity to catch up with friends and to make new friends too. This time we were given a bookmark, designed by one of the group, to colour and keep – a nice reminder of a lovely time together.

Do any of you have churches which do something similar?

Then, if that wasn’t enough, three of us went on to a quilt show at Duxford (some of you may have noticed the count down icon on my sidebar 🙂 ). This was the first time I’d been to this venue and it was very impressive.

How about this for an entrance hall to a quilt show!

SAM_2253

This was the cafe!

SAM_2256

There were quite a few trade stalls so a bit of buying went on 😉

Papillon by Moda
Papillon by Moda

And quite a few exhibition quilts on show too – I am always in awe when I see the quality of some of these quilts. Here are a few which I particularly liked…

SAM_2259

SAM_2261

This quilt was called Cwlwn Lafant by Gwenfai Rees Griffiths and was based on a design by Ricky Tims. It was all hand quilted, I am in total awe of people who can hand quilt so beautifully – wow!
SAM_2262

I loved this quilt – possibly because it was in my favourite colour palette. It was called Forget-me-not by Judith Scott and was based on a design by Clare Kingslake. Each little petal was appliquéd on – just beautiful.

SAM_2264

This is another Claire Kingslake design called Basket on a Shelf and was made by Jan Clegg. I liked the way the basket used woven strips of fabric.

I love the country feel to the two last designs, I’d never heard of Clare Kingslake before, but I’ve discovered that she has a website – link here where she sells her patterns 🙂

Sunday was, in the UK, Mothering Sunday so I was looked after by my offspring and hubby all day 🙂 I could get used to this!

I even managed to finish crocheting my shawl – just need to block it now. I’ve looked up how to block something but I’m at a loss of what to block the shawl on as it’s so big. Any advice out there? Please 🙂

Until next time,

Chris x

2 thoughts on “Chocks Away

Thank you for your comment :)

