Getting dressed again

Tuesday is Chair Day when I go to my upholstery class and work on my little chair. I’m really enjoying myself with this project, meeting some great people who are so helpful to me and to each other – a lovely atmosphere to learn in and be inspired in too; some of the ladies are doing amazing projects. Two ladies are doing up huge sofas, and the others are doing up a variety of chairs which, I’m sure, would have ended up on a tip without their vision and skill.

I spent the start of my class ‘horse hairing’ the seat of the chair – just like I did with the back of the chair last week. Lots and lots of ‘fluffing up’ horse hair to take out the lumps and make it soft and airy. Then fluffing all the hair together so there are no ‘joins’. It’s a lot like stuffing a toy with wadding where you have to be so careful not to get lumps and bumps.

The yellow you can see on the seat is some of the original grass fibre
The yellow you can see on the seat is some of the original grass fibre which I reused after washing it.

The seat had a big dip in the centre of it where years of bottoms plonking themselves down had flattened it so I had to make sure the dip was extra well stuffed! After all that fluffing I had sore hands – don’t laugh – it takes a lot of effort 😉

Next step was to cover the seat with something called fleece which is a bit like quilting wadding but a lot looser texture, then with polyester wadding. These hold the horse hair in place and help it not to poke through the final fabric.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally, the really exciting part, the actual fabric 🙂 🙂 🙂

The fabric was measured out and positioned on the chair so that the design was central.
The fabric was measured out and positioned on the chair so that the design was central.
The fabric is pulled taut and half tacked in place under the chair.
The fabric is pulled taut and half tacked in place under the chair.
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
then the fabric is smoothed and pulled tight again and re tacked in place…and again…and again…and again…
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
This is my tutor showing me how to go round the legs – so much to remember.
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
this is the corner Sue did – my homework is to do the other corner – if only I could remember everything she did 😦 !

My chair looks like it’s starting to get dressed after a long sleep!

And now a peep at another project I’ve just started…

Any ideas what it's going to be?
Any ideas what it’s going to be?

I really should get back to the banners now 🙂

Until next time,

Chris x

2 thoughts on “Getting dressed again

  1. buntyw

    Corners are the worst aren’t they??? My teacher is left handed which means her best corner is always my worst which can be handy sometimes!!

Thank you for your comment :)

