Chair Day

Oh my poor hands, they feel so sore! Who knew that upholstery could be so painful! Today’s task was to ‘sew’ using a massive two ended needle. So if you didn’t get stabbed by one end of the needle the other end got you instead (or in my case as well as 😦 )

Image
‘The Needle’

I learnt to sew using blind stitch which makes loops inside the channel I’d made last week, you then have to pull very hard on the twine to tighten up the loops and squash all the horse hair together so it creates a firm edge to the chair back. In doing so I got a huge blister and had to resort to wearing gloves! (I’m such a softie 😉 )

Image
Blind stitching – vicious!

Image

Needless to say I didn’t get as much done as I hoped to so I’ve got homework – but I think it’ll have to wait until my hands have recovered a bit 🙂

I’ve also been busy making a miniature version of a banner I want to make for my church – I’ll try to post a photo tomorrow.

Until next time,

Chris x

One thought on “Chair Day

  1. Pingback: Covering my Bottom | UK City Crafter

Thank you for your comment :)

